Extract from the statutes of the non-independent foundation
International Kurt Masur Institute
26 March 2016

Preamble

The Foundation shall endeavour to preserve the legacy of the conductor and global citizen Kurt Masur (18 July 1927 – 19 December 2015) for his contemporaries and for future generations, and to create a meeting place and a venue for cultural education. The Foundation regards it as its remit to promote discussion of and communicate the humanist, musical and social outlook and disposition of Kurt Masur, and to pass it on to others around the world. This is an expression of gratitude for his dedication to the work of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy.

Art. 1 Name, legal form, headquarters

(1) The Foundation bears the name, ‘Internationales Kurt-Masur-Institut’, or in its extended form: ‘Internationales Kurt-Masur-Institut – unselbständige Stiftung bei der Felix-Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Stiftung’.
(2) It is a non-independent foundation under civil law, sponsored by the 
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Foundation, and has its headquarters in Leipzig.
[…]

Art. 2 Purpose of the Foundation

(1) The Foundation pursues charitable ends exclusively and directly, in compliance with the paragraph of the German Tax Code on ‘Tax-privileged objectives’. The purpose of the Foundation is to promote art and culture and provide adult and professional education. The Foundation serves to preserve and maintain the artistic and historical legacy of Kurt Masur, as a conductor, Kapellmeister of the Gewandhaus, and founding benefactor of the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Foundation. It further serves to promote musical education and training, following the example of Kurt Masur and in the tradition of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy.
(2) The statutory purpose shall be realised in particular by:
establishing and holding a permanent exhibition on Kurt Masur and his work in the form of a multimedia meeting place and an information centre on the premises of the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Foundation;
 conducting ‘Kurt Masur Lectures’ and/or series of talks as 
academic symposia and/or symposia on cultural policy;
 conducting ‘Education Projects & Programs’ – workshops on the topic of music and society for children, adults, students and young professionals;
collaborating with the International Mendelssohn Academy;
 conducting seminars, courses or concerts to promote international exchange and encounters between young musicians;
 establishing, maintaining and extending a Kurt Masur archive, including through the acquisition and acceptance of additions to the archive in the form of donations.

In order to meet its objectives, the Foundation shall endeavour to cooperate with cultural, educational and academic institutions which pursue the same or similar goals at a local, national and international level. It shall put into practice measures in the area of cultural education, artistic programmatic partnerships and interdisciplinary projects. The Foundation is politically and ideologically impartial. Its activities consistently serve the cause of peaceful encounters between members of different nations, mutual knowledge and understanding, and the development of interpersonal relationships.

Auszug aus der Satzung der unselbständigen Stiftung
Internationales Kurt-Masur-Institut
26. März 2016

Präambel

Die Stiftung gilt dem Bestreben, das Vermächtnis des Dirigenten und Weltbürgers Kurt Masur (* 18. Juli 1927 – 19. Dezember 2015) für Wegbegleiter und künftige Generationen lebendig zu erhalten und einen Ort der Begegnung wie der kulturellen Bildung zu schaffen. Die Stiftung versteht es als ihren Auftrag, die humanistische, musikalische sowie gesellschaftliche Haltung und Gesinnung Kurt Masurs zu thematisieren, zu kommunizieren und international weiterzutragen. Sie gilt in Dankbarkeit seinem Engagement um das Werk Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys.

§ 1 Name, Rechtsform, Sitz

(1) Die Stiftung führt den Namen „Internationales Kurt-Masur-Institut“, in der Langform: Internationales Kurt-Masur-Institut – unselbständige Stiftung bei der Felix-Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Stiftung.
(2) Sie ist eine unselbständige Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts in Trägerschaft der 
Felix-Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Stiftung und hat ihren Sitz in Leipzig.
[…]

§ 2 Stiftungszweck

(1) Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke im Sinne des Abschnitts „Steuerbegünstigte Zwecke“ der Abgabenordnung. Zweck der Stiftung ist die Förderung von Kunst und Kultur sowie der Volks- und Berufsbildung. Die Stiftung dient der Bewahrung und Pflege des künstlerischen und zeitgeschichtlichen Erbes von Kurt Masur, als Dirigent, Gewandhauskapellmeister und Gründungsstifter der Felix-Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Stiftung. Sie dient weiterhin der Förderung musikalischer Bildung und Ausbildung nach dem Vorbild Kurt Masurs und in der Tradition Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys.

(2) Der Satzungszweck wird verwirklicht insbesondere durch:
– Einrichtung und Betrieb einer ständigen Ausstellung zu Person und Wirken Kurt Masurs in Form einer multimedialen Begegnungsstätte und eines Informationszentrums in den Räumen der Felix-Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Stiftung;
– Durchführung sog. „Kurt Masur Lectures“ bzw. Gesprächsreihen, als 
wissenschaftliche bzw. kulturpolitische Symposien;
– Durchführung von „Education Projects & Programs“ – Workshops zum Themenkreis Musik und Gesellschaft für Kinder Erwachsene, Studierende und Young Professionals;
– Kooperation mit der Internationalen Mendelssohn-Akademie;
– Seminare, Kurse oder Konzerte zum internationalen Austausch und der Begegnung junger Musiker;
– Einrichtung, Betreuung und Ausbau eines Kurt Masur Archivs, auch durch Akquise und Annahme von Bestandsergänzungen in Form von Schenkungen.

Die Stiftung strebt zur Erfüllung ihrer Zwecke die Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen, nationalen und internationalen Kultur-, Bildungs- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen an, welche gleiche oder ähnliche Zwecke verfolgen. Sie verwirklicht kulturpädagogische Maßnahmen, künstlerisch programmatische Partnerschaften sowie interdisziplinäre Vorhaben. Die Stiftung ist politisch und weltanschaulich neutral. Ihre Tätigkeit dient stets auch der friedlichen Begegnung der Angehörigen verschiedener Völker, des gegenseitigen Kennen- und Verstehenlernens sowie der Entwicklung zwischenmenschlicher Beziehungen.